Home Carroll County 2023 Election Information for Municipalities in Carroll County

2023 Election Information for Municipalities in Carroll County


Here is information on the various municipality elections around Carroll County in 2023

Carroll County has eight municipalities: Hampstead, Manchester, Mount Airy, New Windsor, Sykesville, Taneytown, Union Bridge, and Westminster.

Additional information for all local municipalities in the county will be added/updated to the page as information is obtained or released from each municipality.



Two members of the Town Council and the Mayor will be elected in 2023

March 1st: Nomination packets available at Hampstead Town Office.

April 10th: Candidate filing deadline (Candidate for office must file a nomination packet by this date)

April 10th: Voter registration deadline.

May 9th: Municipal Elections – Town Hall, 1034 S. Carroll Street, Hampstead, MD 21074

See additional details in the social media post: https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=pfbid021biXdqD6HnCKpEqvmG1jpMzapaE2p54xQj9VGVssTCpyvNhK7B7jFbGpEphmxa4ol&id=100068254755212&__cft__[0]=AZUXbLTJkeWkH2t4lDFAJdlSG6lcs5dRttiq0mxHlXdNbYxIM0tC6XBsUY7bsPGQMClSyKr0WJcpamr40kjxZ5DEiNvvGznCHOFagZMSZKpBwMuqd5UEHTZ5o9XQWNVVm5OZVyrWPuRLLWr6mOWHZOgmT7j6SsbDu500dPmTj1CFI6N8pvxq8FVRDFBdvr6c74Y&__tn__=%2CO%2CP-R

Also here is information on the website: https://hampsteadmd.gov/index.asp?SEC=F4C44063-081A-4E0C-90CB-152FAE05DBD3&DE=2E62B9F5-2024-41C1-839E-C6692304D06D



Two members of the Town Council and the Mayor will be elected in 2023

April 3rd: Deadline to submit nominations for election both Council and Mayor position

April 17th: Last day to register with Carroll County Elections to participate in the Municipal Election

May 16th: Election Day 7:00am – 8:00pm. Election is held in the Council Room located at the Town Hall 3337 Victory Street.

Additional information can be found on page 5 of this document:  https://manchestermd.gov/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/jan-aug-2023.pdf

More information can be found here: https://manchestermd.gov/election-news/

Mount Airy:


Three members of the Town Council will be elected in 2023

Deadline for candidates to file to run for office: Two citizen meetings will be held for the purpose of accepting nominations of candidates for Three Town Council positions: currently filled by Jason Poirier, Pamela Reed and Karl Munder. Nominations will remain open between the two meetings:

February 21, 2023 – First Nomination Meeting at 7:00 p.m., at the Mount Airy Town Hall, 110 S. Main Street, Mount Airy.

February 28, 2023 – Second Nomination Meeting at 7:00 p.m., at the Mount Airy Town Hall, 110 S. Main Street, Mount Airy — when all nominations will be read and given to the Town Clerk to put on the ballot.

To run for elected office as a Councilperson qualified individuals shall have resided in Mount Airy for at least one year immediately preceding the election and shall be a qualified voter in the Town.

Nominations will be accepted at both Nomination Meetings and by contacting Holly McCleary, Town Clerk, at Town Hall, 301-829-1424 or via email at hmccleary@mountairymd.gov during the week between the two Nomination Meetings. Eligible individuals seeking elective office may submit a nomination. Eligible citizens may nominate an individual with the written consent of the nominee.

Voter registration deadline: Tuesday, April 4, 2023

Election date (and voting location) and times: Tuesday, May 2, 2023 at the Mount Airy Volunteer Fire Company Reception Hall located at 1008 Twin Arch Road, Mount Airy. Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.

When information is available on the town website a link will be placed here: https://www.mountairymd.gov/550/Elections

2023 Candidates: Jason Evans, Clayton Gilbert, Stephen “Pops” Kraft, incumbent Karl Munder and Tim Washabaugh

See candidate profile videos here: https://carrollcountyobserver.com/2023/03/30/mount-airy-candidate-profile-videos-from-carroll-county-community-media-center/

New Windsor:


There are three Council seats available for this election

Deadline for candidates to file to run for office—Monday, April 10, 2023

Voter registration deadline—Monday, April 3, 2023

Election date (and voting location) and times. Tuesday, May 9th 2023 from 7am to 8pm at 209 High Street (Town Hall), New Windsor, MD

Information can be found at the link below and our Facebook page.



There are three Council Member positions up for election this year

March 27th: Filing deadline for candidates

March 27th: Voter registration deadline

May 2nd: ELECTION DAY. Voting at Town House from 8:00am to 8:00pm

Here is additional election information on the Sykesville website: https://www.townofsykesville.org/2259/Election-Information



Two members of the Town Council and the Mayor will be elected in 2023

The City of Taneytown will hold its City Election on Monday, May 1, 2023 between the hours of 7:00 AM and 7:00 PM at the Taneytown Police Station, 120 E. Baltimore Street in Taneytown. The election is for Mayor and 2 full-term (4-years) Councilmember seats.

March 20th: Candidate filing deadline

April 3rd: Voter registration deadline

May 1st: Election Day

Absentee ballots may be obtained from the City Clerk following a written request for an absentee ballot. Absentee ballots shall be available beginning at noon on April 10, 2023. All completed absentee ballots must be received by the City no later than 4:00 PM on Monday, May 1, 2023.

Additional details can be found here: https://www.taneytownmd.gov/news_detail_T6_R337.php

Union Bridge:


Two members of the Town Council and the Mayor will be elected in 2023

April 9th: Voter registration deadline

April 12th: Candidate filing deadline


Some basic information in in this newsletter: https://www.townofub.org/Union%20Bridge%20Newsletter%20Jan-Mar%202023%20FINAL.pdf. Additional information should be on the website in early March (per phone conversation on February 10th).

Additional election information can be found here: https://www.townofub.org/ELECTION%20PUBLIC%20NOTICE%202023.pdf



Three members of the Town Council will be elected in 2023

January 3: Candidate Registration for the 2023 Election begins at 8:30 a.m.

April 10: Deadline for to file for Candidacy at 4:30 p.m.

April 10: VOTER REGISTATION DEADLINE (4:30 P.M.) for registering to vote with Carroll County Board of Elections. You must be a resident of the City of Westminster and be registered to vote in order to run for office or to vote in the General Election.

April 10: Announcement of the Certified Candidates during the Mayor and Common Council Meeting.

May 8: Deadline for Absentee Ballot Request Application, due by 7:00 a.m.

May 9: ELECTION DAY (Polls Open from 7:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m.)

On Tuesday, May 9, 2023 there are Three (3) Councilmember seats open for the 2023 Municipal Election, each to serve a Four-year term (expiring in 2027). Candidate Information Packets, which include official required paperwork to become a candidate, will be available on January 3, 2023, at the City of Westminster Administration Building (45 West Main Street). If you have any questions please contact City Clerk Doug Barber at (410) 848-4938 or dabarber@westminstermd.gov. For more information, please visit the City of Westminster’s website at www.westminstermd.gov ,“Elections”. Learn more here on page 2: https://www.westminstermd.gov/DocumentCenter/View/4318/January-2023

Visit the Elections page for additional details: https://www.westminstermd.gov/390/Elections

2023 Candidates (as of March 3rd): Ann Marie Gilbert, Kevin Earl Dayhoff, Louis Gregory Pecoraro

The Carroll County Community Media Center has also put together a really good guide for residents:



Previous articleRecent News From Around Carroll County Maryland – February 8, 2023
Next article6 Takeaways from February’s Town Council Meeting


Leave a Reply